Growing

Another school year has come and gone. This year I volunteered in my grandson’s 1st grade class every week. I always enjoy seeing how much the students have grown not only in height but in their knowledge. This year the students and I planned a quilt for their teacher to give to her, at the end of the school year. I traced their hands and then they told me their favorite color. I cut their hands out of fabric in their favorite color. I then had them sign their name to their hand. The hands were stitched to the background fabric using a blanket stitch. The background fabric had pictures of postcards all over it. The students had collected postcards from all over the US.  The Oak leaves were placed between the leaves. The oak leaves were to represent the students as a young saplings and how they grow mighty and strong. On the label on back I wrote the last stanza from the poem, The Oak Tree by Johnny Ray Ryder Jr.

” Until today I wasn’t sure

Of just how much I could endure

But now I’ve found, with thanks to you

I’m stronger than I ever knew.”

Teacher's Quilt

Standard

2 thoughts on “Growing

  1. What a wonderful present for their class teacher – you’ve done an amazing job pulling it all together – it looks fabulous!
    Lovely to see what you’ve been up to!

  2. Thank you for the wonderful comment. I have declared this year as finishing UFOs, but I always have one teacher’s quilt and usually a baby quilt that sneaks in there.
    My long term project is hand quilting a king size quilt for my daughter, hope to finish by the end of the year. I also want to finish at least 3 wall hanging.

Leave a Reply

